Restaurant Review| Blackbird at the Nielson Tower

Standard
Restaurant Review| Blackbird at the Nielson Tower

The Blackbird Restaurant is in Nielson Tower located along Ayala Triangle,  Makati City. My company made a reservation here on a Monday night (January 18, 2016) because of its good online reviews such as this one from Our Awesome Planet and a promising fine dine experience. There were about 20 of us who got together that night.

Reservation
We were a big group so when we made a reservation they offered us to have the group meal course. After calling and confirming the reservation, they asked our representative to go personally to the restaurant to pay the reservation fee.
Plus point for suggesting the menu.
Minus point for lacking the online way to pay the reservation fee.

Four-Course Meal for a Group

Location
The building is located in Ayala Triangle fronting Makati Avenue. The restaurant is easy to find by just checking out the address Using Google map or Waze can be very helpful too.
It is conveniently located for people within the Makati CBD who want a taste of fine dine experience. Parking lots in the area are also plenty.
Plus points for the accessible and easy to find location.

Food
Pardon, my feedback about the food because I hardly eat on fine dine restaurants. Our set has four courses:

Leftover of Homemade bread, echire butter, red pesto

Homemade bread, echire butter and red pesto

The bread is good but nothing special. It took an effort to chew the sliced bread. Not the typical Gardenia bread that’s soft. I liked the mild taste of butter over the quite sourly red pesto. I just spread some butter on the homemade bread and I knew they were perfect together.

Buffalo Mozzarella, Peperonata, Basil, Rocket

Buffalo Mozzarella, Peperonata, Basil, Rocket

Apologies to vegans and chefs out there for my ignorance but this green salad is out of my league because I prefer meat. Two things come to my mind while eating this:
1. It reminds me of my childhood where we play “lutu-lutuan (pretend to cook)”. It’s a game where my cousins and I will have those small clay pots and stove. We will have an imaginary restaurant and pretend to cook. Our ingredients are the different leaves and grasses we have in our home, roadside or farm. We pick those with unique colors, shapes, and fragrance. I even joked that these are similar to the leaves of wild plants I saw outside my old home. I should have learned how to make a salad out of them.
2. My stomach is not as tough as the grazing animals and so I remember my science subject where I read that these animals have a special digestive system to properly digest the fibers of leaves and grasses.

Anyway, it’s healthy and I know I should be eating more like this type of food. I am considering to grow some plants like basil and thyme now on pots. Maybe, use the leaves for garnishing and for adding flavor. It might make my dishes look and taste more classy.

Roast Salmon Fillet

Roast Salmon Fillet with beetroot carpaccio, warm potato, and horseradish salad

 

I choose salmon for my main course because I already had chicken for my lunch. The salmon was well-cooked and soft textured. It was really good for a fish. I also enjoyed the potato salad. It’s my first time to eat a beetroot and I liked the taste. I just had trouble eating up all the green vegetables because I had enough of the salad.

Roast Chicken Breast with Sage, Sausage and Onion, Carrot Puree and Thyme Jus 

Roast Chicken Breast with Sage, Sausage and Onion, Carrot Puree and Thyme Jus

I was able to taste the roast chicken which is the other choice for the main course. It tasted great. I liked it more than the salmon (because I’m a meat lover). The puree provided the extra flavor that blended well with the chicken, sausage, and onion.

Warm Lemon Pudding, Cardamom Creme Anglaise

Warm Lemon Pudding, Cardamom Creme Anglaise

Here’s the dessert! It should be eaten while warm. It’s really sweet but the warmth of the pudding makes it delicious. One pudding is enough for me. It’s too sweet that you will feel there’s too much sugar in you.

Plus points: It’s classy and was served as expected. Each course was a new experience for me.

Minus points: Waiting time for food to be served was quite long. I don’t know if it’s normal for a fine-dine restaurant or if our group was too big for them to quickly prepare each course.

Customer Service

The staff is all really nice and accommodating. They look respectful and tactful.

100% satisfied.

Facilities

Given its reputation, its facilities like the dining room, bar and restroom have beautiful interior and setup. The place is clean and provides a quiet and relax ambiance

100% satisfied.

Leave a Reply

